The minimum wage for most Pennsylvania workers is $7.25 per hour. The cutoff for this pay rate is 40 hours per week. If workers exceed 40 hours per week, their employer must pay them a minimum wage of 1.5 times their regular wage, which is $10.88 for those who earn minimum wage.
However, there are exceptions. One of these exceptions is younger workers. Understanding what the law says regarding minimum wage for younger workers is essential to ensure you receive the pay to which you are entitled.
Pennsylvania minimum wage for workers under 18
The youth minimum wage in Pennsylvania is $4.25 for the first 90 days of employment. This youth pay rate applies to anyone who is 18 years of age or younger.
Pennsylvania minimum wage for workers under 20
The same law mentioned above applies to new employees under the age of 20. According to federal law, employers may pay them a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the initial 90 days of their employment.
Pennsylvania student minimum wage
Full-time college or high-school students who work part-time can receive 85% of the minimum wage in Pennsylvania. This means only $6.16 per hour for up to 20 hours of work a week. However, this only applies to some employers, like work-study programs at colleges or universities.
Your wage rights as a younger worker in Pennsylvania
The first step in protecting your right to receive minimum wages is knowing what you should be paid. The information here provides an overview of the minimum wage laws for younger workers. You have legal options if you believe you aren’t receiving a fair wage for your work. Make sure you take steps to protect your rights and that your employer is not paying you less than you deserve.